Getting Lively, Lush & Local With: Kenny Steven Fuentes

Who are you? Kenny Steven Fuentes

What do you do? Act, direct, produce, blog and write plays. When I get bored, I found theatre companies.

Where are you from originally? Down South…of Boston. Brockton, MA to be exact. We killed Sacco and Vanzetti.

How long have you been working in Boston? 2.5 years.

Why do you stay? I’m a wanted man. I have the death sentence on twelve systems.

What is your earliest theatre memory? As a child, watching Charlotte’s Web from backstage at Wheelock Family Theatre.T

What’s your first theatre memory in Boston? Technically the above, but I remember my first memory in Boston as an actor is of totally bombing at an audition for an Equity theatre. A month later, they called me and asked me to keep in touch. That meant a lot to me.

What was your first job in theatre? My first gig out of college was a small part at Wheelock, which seemed fitting. I looked like a smurf.

What’s the best meal you’ve ever had before a show? Turkey Reuben at Francesca’s.

What’s your favorite rehearsal snack? Beer. I mean… Not beer…

Do you eat before you go on stage or do you wait until after your performance to eat? I try to have light meals. I eat as one would before competing in a sporting event.

If you could change one thing about theater, what would it be? Bring down the price of a ticket. Even fringe theaters charge a lot.

What kind of theater excites you? I love watching a show where the actors are terrified and okay with it. That’s really the only truly honest acting.

What advice do you have for artists just starting out? If it scares the living crap out of you, you’re probably on the right track.

The Boston Theatre Conference is focusing on the lively, lush and local aspects of our theatre community. What do you think? That’s one of the reasons I stay here. I really appreciate our focus on fostering growth of local art. Also, I have the death sentence on 12 systems.

YOUR TURN! Write to us here!

, ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

