Getting Lively, Lush & Local With: Amanda Ostrow

Who are you? Amanda Ostrow

What do you do? I’m an ASM/Wardrobe mistress at The Lyric Stage Company

Where are you from originally? Saugus, MA

How long have you been working in Boston? 4 years

Why do you stay? I absolutely love this theater community. There are so many amazing opportunities here.

What’s your earliest theatre memory? I was a poppy in the Wizard of Oz in 4th grade

What’s your first theatre memory in Boston? I think the first show I ever saw anywhere in Boston was Peter Pan when I was about 8 or 9 years old

What was your first job in theatre? Admin Assistant at Gloucester Stage

What’s the best meal you’ve ever had before a show? “Family” Chicken Saturdays on the first Saturday of every show at The Lyric!

What’s your favorite rehearsal snack? Twizzlers…all thanks to Dawn Schall Saglio 🙂

Do you eat before you go on stage or do you wait until after your performance to eat? Well, I’m usually running around backstage for performances so usually after the show.

If you could change one thing about theater, what would it be? Honestly, I don’t think I would change a thing.

What kind of theater excites you? Everything.  I’ve worked with SO many amazing people and am grateful for the impact they’ve had on me. Working in theater is so many things. It’s crazy, stressful, ridiculous, amazing, profound, scary, nerve-wracking, inspiring, etc…and I love every minute of it.

What advice do you have for artists just starting out? Keep at it. Don’t get discouraged if you’re having a hard time.  Things will work out. Get out there and network…you’ll meet great people and if you’re lucky, they’ll help you along with great advice.

The Boston Theatre Conference is focusing on the lively, lush and local aspects of our theatre community. What do you think? I think it’s GREAT! I really hope I can get there because I think any opportunity to gather with the community and just talk is SO useful.

YOUR TURN! Write to us here!

 

, , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

