Getting Lively, Lush & Local With: Cassie M. Seinuk

Who are you? Cassie M. Seinuk

What do you do? Stage Manage and Playwright

Where are you from originally? Long Island, NY. But sometimes it sounds more like Lawn Gialand

How long have you been working in Boston? A year and a half

Why do you stay? I love the community here, it feels warm and inviting, and I love how everyone knows eachother.

What’s your earliest theatre memory? I played a present box in summer camp performance…maybe a Hanukkah play, even though it was summer.

What’s your first theatre memory in Boston? Driving to Chelsea to pick up metal meat packing tables for Shakespeare Now!’s Macbeth, and getting really lost.

What was your first job in theatre? I started stage managing at 11, my first show was The Lion King, I think, first paid job was Pageant Play at Berkshire Theatre Festival, so much glitter!

What’s the best meal you’ve ever had before a show? Usually I get stuck with just a Luna bar…

What’s your favorite rehearsal snack? Chocolate covered pretzels!

If you could change one thing about theater, what would it be? The hours. I wish sometimes that I could have weekends or time to see my family more often. But I’d rather have work than no work.

What kind of theater excites you? Mind Fucks

What advice do you have for artists just starting out? Learn how to sell yourself, make contacts, and you’re your best advocate. Also bake cookies!

The Boston Theatre Conference is focusing on the lively, lush and local aspects of our theatre community. What do you think? There are always a bunch of shows I want to see all at the same time, I wish there was more time.

YOUR TURN! Write to us here!

 

, , , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

