Getting Lively, Lush & Local With: Coriana Hunt Swartz

Who are you? Coriana Hunt Swartz

What do you do? What DON’T I do? I’m a costume designer and actress, I sit on the Flat Earth Theatre Executive Council, I like to try my hand at whatever needs to be done — “what I do” is best summarized “I do theatre.”

Where are you from originally? Here, actually! But I grew up mostly in central Vermont.

How long have you been working in Boston? Two and a half years, now

Why do you stay? I stay because this is where the community I want to belong to is building itself, and I am so excited to be part of that process.

What’s your earliest theatre memory? I started my first theatre company when I was, I don’t know, 8 or 9? It was called The Front Porch Theater and specialized in adaptations of fairy tales starring me, my best friend, and our stuffed animals.

What’s your first theatre memory in Boston? Coming to see my brother in a Wandering Minds show when he was at B.U.

What was your first job in theatre? Paying job? Costume Assistant and Child Wrangler for the Chandler Center for the Arts, Randoloph, VT, summer of 2006. I thought I was volunteering, but then they paid me. Real-with-a-contract job? Costume Designer for Brundibar, Commonwealth Opera of Western Mass, 2008.

What’s the best meal you’ve ever had before a show? …I don’t know, if I eat before a show I’m not usually thinking much about the food. I can’t remember!

What’s your favorite rehearsal snack? That time I brought carrot sticks and pretzels and it felt like revisiting preschool, that was kind of fun.

Do you eat before you go on stage or do you wait until after your performance to eat? I usually eat *something* before going to the theatre, but wait till after for anything like a real dinner

If you could change one thing about theater, what would it be? More conversations. Not just in the lobby or at the bar after the show, but long term and across town — theatre that responds to and becomes part of the larger conversations in our community and the larger world, and wider-world conversations in which the theatre we are doing can participate.

What kind of theater excites you? I’m a sucker for emotional depth and universal human themes. (Also politically/socially active theatre, and anything with robots.)

What advice do you have for artists just starting out? Trust yourself and dive in.

The Boston Theatre Conference is focusing on the lively, lush and local aspects of our theatre community. What do you think? Yes please!

YOUR TURN! Write to us here!

, , , , , , ,

  1. Tweets that mention Grow Local with Costume Designer Coriana Hunt Swartz #BTC11 -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

