Happy to call Boston home.

Boston has always been my home. I grew up in Lincoln and developed a love for theatre when I was very young thanks to theatre-loving parents, Waltham’s Reagle Players (now the Reagle Music Theatre), and Emerson College radio’s “Standing Room Only.” Unlike so many of my non-theatre friends, I was fortunate to find my passion – theatrical producing – when I was still in high school. Not long after that, I determined that rather than move to New York, I wanted to plant my roots, develop my craft, and contribute to the theatre scene in my hometown.

I love so many things about being a part of this community: our passionate, diverse, creative, and extremely talented members; our broad spectrum of organizations who are staging such high-quality productions, developing new work, and pushing the boundaries of our art form in innovative and thrilling ways; and the audience that supports us and engages in conversation with us.

Those of us who choose to work in our field in our city are a special breed. To outsiders, we sometimes feel we need to defend our choice to be here, but among each other, no explanation is needed. Each of us understands our collective commitment to our community, our desire to achieve a work-life balance, and our pride in the home-grown.

In the more than ten years I’ve now been working professionally in our community, I’ve come to know so many kindred spirits who share my values. The Slow Food Movement celebrates the local identity of a region’s food, the connections between food and the many other aspects of life, and the knowledge of ingredients’ sources.

In a community of our size, don’t we operate this way, too? When I attend a show at one of our local companies, I take such joy in seeing work by someone whose career I’ve been following during my time in Boston. I consider how is this most recent role/design/direction/play is different from what I’ve seen from this artist previously. How are they growing as an artist? How has revisiting a collaboration with other artists strengthened their work, or embarking on collaboration comprised of entirely new artists changed it? Repertory companies are almost a lost construct in our community, and yet, without even being invited to join, we are a part of Boston’s.

I, for one, am happy to be a company member. Happy to be a part of this community, to build my career, my friendships, and my family here. And happy to call Boston home.

Rebecca Curtiss is the Communications Manager for The Huntington Theatre Company

, , , ,

  1. #1 by U. Gino Kneel on January 10, 2011 - 11:01 am

    I’m happy to be here too. But having grown up in New England, and then having spent years in other artistic communities before returning to settle in the Boston area, I would like to see a stronger commitment from area politicians and policymakers. Tax incentives for owners of vacant storefronts to rent to performing arts groups (like Chicago), or for new construction and renovation of downtown buildings to include gallery and performance spaces (like DC), creating affordable/accessible performance space in public buildings (like Arlington VA). This gives smaller arts groups the opportunity to find their voice as well as their audience.

    I would also like to see a stronger commitment from the larger local media outlets to cover smaller theatre companies, rather than the Broadway tours that already have all the publicity they require.

  1. Tweets that mention Happy to call Boston home. « #BTC11 -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

