Getting Lively, Lush & Local With: Tyler York

Who are you? Tyler York

What do you do? I am an arts administrator working for Emerson Stage at Emerson College. I also consult for Boston Lyric Opera on their student program, The BLO Bunch.

Where are you from originally? Kansas

How long have you been working in Boston? 5 years

What’s your earliest theatre memory? My grandmother took me to a production of Into the Woods, when I was 6 or 7. They lived in Pittsburgh at the time, and we rode the train from their home outside the city to downtown. I grew up in Kansas, so this was magical in and of itself. The production was mesmerizing. I was fascinated with the costumes, singing, and story. I still remember recreating all the parts at home for weeks afterward.

What’s your first theatre memory in Boston? I saw Lion King, shortly after it reopened the Opera House. I was in town to interview for college. I was here alone with only the cash my parents gave me to spend on meals. I spent the money on a ticket to Lion King instead!

What’s the best meal you’ve ever had before a show? One shared with friends. There couldn’t be a better meal than that.

What’s your favorite rehearsal snack? Coffee. Is there any other option?

The Boston Theatre Conference is focusing on the lively, lush and local aspects of our theatre community. What do you think? Theatre is nothing if not local, as it is most about the people – the community – in a specific location at a specific time experience something together. The Boston theatre community, those of us in the business, is very lively and certainly lush indeed. I am always proud of the amount of support and care shared between those in the theatre community here.

YOUR TURN! Write to us here!

 

, , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

